Author: Anne O'Brien Rice

Title: Interview With the Vampire

Published: 1976 (in Great Britain)

 

2pm

First I must say that I've been looking for this book for like four, five years.

Now. First impression of the cover - interesting content inside! Then. I borrowed the copy that is introduced by Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveler's Wife, and I read that first and got even more interested. I couldn't wait to get started!

The book met my expectations. It was indeed an interview with a vampire. The story starts with a boy (age not defined) placing his interview equipment while the vampire watches him do so. The boy asks questions, the vampire answers - and tells the tale of his life.

I must admit I was an idiot and didn't make any notes while reading this book, which is a shame because this was an amazing read, and there's so much about this book. The musings of Louis, the main character - how are vampires made, why do they exist, are they really of Satan... And then there are Lestat, Louis's maker, and Claudia, a small girl turned into a vampire so Louis wouldn't be so lonely (or so I interpreted that part, I could be wrong, eh). And then eventually there are the mindless vampires in eastern Europe, and the vampires of Théâtre des Vampires in Paris...

I swear that when I start reading the next novel, I'll keep a notebook around me! This sucks that a wonderful reading experience was.... well, wasted, in a way.

Started: Dec 17, 2010

Finished: Jan 3, 2011

Recommended for: those who haven't read Rice's books yet!